Muslims commonly use two terms to describe every subject as Halal or Haraam. Halal is a Arabic word which means permitted, lawful with respect to which no restriction exists, and the doing and consuming of which the Law-giver, Allah has allowed.
Haraam means the opposite-unlawful or forbidden that which the Lawgiver absolutely prohibited; anyone who engages in it is liable to incur the punishment of Allah in the Hereafter as well as a legal punishment in this world.
Foods containing ingredients such as gelatin, enzymes, emulsifiers, etc. are often referred to as Mashbooh, (which means doubtful or questionable) because the origin of these ingredients are not known. Many of the foods are considered Halal except the following, which are Haraam without doubt.
- Swine/pork and its by-products
- Animals improperly slaughtered or dead before slaughtering
- Animals killed in the name of anyone other than ALLAH (God)
- Alcohol and intoxicants
- Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and land animals without external ears
- Blood and blood by-products
- Foods contaminated with any of the above products are Haraam.
- To demonstrate compliance with applicable statutory and regulatory requirements
- To evaluate and assess customer requirements and demonstrate conformity with those mutually agreed customer requirements that relate to Halal, in order to enhance customer satisfaction,
- It is applicable to all those organizations, which are involved in any aspect of the food chain like food grower, processors & manufacturer.